Why We Indie Musicians Never Fail | Disc Makers’ Echoes – Insight for Independent Artists

Why We Indie Musicians Never Fail

by CHERYL B. ENGELHARDT

I was just working on an article comparing some out-of-the-box promotion ideas; the ones that were successes and the ones that were failures. The thing is, I couldn’t think of a single “failure.” And it’s not because I think I’m some huge indie music success. It’s simple: When we’re still trying, we never fail.

I’ve had many “failures” in the casual, muggle sense of the word. I’ve tried to raise money for records, to do music promotion to get bigger audiences to come to shows, and made hundreds of cold calls only to hear hundreds of “no’s.” Yet none of these occur to me as a failure. At the same time, I have to fend off this little voice in my head that chants, “you’re not succeeding yet…”

via Why We Indie Musicians Never Fail | Disc Makers’ Echoes – Insight for Independent Artists.

Leave a comment