Do Your Fans Really Pay for Your Music? | DIY Musician

Do Your Fans Really Pay for Your Music?

By Chris Robley

JUNE 18, 2012 226 COMMENTS AND 100 REACTIONS

Illegal Downloading. Free Music. File Sharing. Whatever you call it– the debate rages.

Emily White, an intern at NPR’s All Songs Considered who’s only purchased 15 albums in her life– despite the fact that she has 11,000 songs in her iTunes library, recently wrote a blog post called “I Never Owned Any Music to Begin With” where she probably speaks for many Millennials:

As I’ve grown up, I’ve come to realize the gravity of what file-sharing means to the musicians I love. I can’t support them with concert tickets and t-shirts alone. But I honestly don’t think my peers and I will ever pay for albums. I do think we will pay for convenience.

David Lowery (of Cracker and Camper Van Beethoven) responds in his “Letter to Emily White at NPR All Songs Considered“:

I’m sorry, but what is inconvenient about iTunes and, say, iTunes match (that let’s you stream all your music to all your devices) aside from having to pay? Same with Pandora premium, MOG and a host of other legitimate services. I can’t imagine any other legal music service that is gonna be simpler than these to use. Isn’t convenience already here!?

Emily’s piece offers a glimpse into the mindset of a younger music fan who is wrestling with the implications of the free-music trend. David’s response is thorough and passionate.

via Do Your Fans Really Pay for Your Music? | DIY Musician.

Leave a Reply

